Book Learnin’

If any of my readers would like to support a Seminary student (a.k.a ME) here is a list of books I’d like to study. Please buy them for me! Send them to (Doug Douma, 6160 Country Rd #130, Westcliffe CO, 81252) and I will be massively in your debt. I consider myself a “free-agent” theologically at the moment. Although I’m mostly influenced by Gordon Clark’s scripturalism (and the associated Supralapsarianism) and historic Lutheranism, I’m still trying to figure things out. I especially need to study along the lines of Presbyterianism considering that I’m intending to become ordained in that church. Since I am a free-agent here is your opportunity to convince me of your viewpoint by sending me persuasive books. Here are the books I’d like to read but would gladly accept others.

A Grammar of Akkadian – John Huehnergard (I tend to gravitate to the most difficult subjects possible. Hey, why not learn Akkadian cuneiform)

A Introduction to Ugaratic – John Huehnergard (This is another difficult language, and one supposedly related to Hebrew. I should learn this too for no other reason than I can.)

A Summary of Christian Doctrine – Edward Koehler (I’ve read this book before, but do not have a copy. This is a Lutheran systematic theology book and it’s quite excellent as I recall)

Christian Dogmatics (4 Volumes) – Francis Pieper (A Lutheran systematic theology.

Any other suggestions?

About douglasdouma

I am a graduate of the University of Michigan (BSME), Wake Forest University (MBA), and Sangre de Cristo Seminary (Mdiv). I've learned far more from books than in school. I'm particularly in debt to Martin Luther, Ludwig von Mises, and Gordon H. Clark for any thoughts I have.
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Learnin’

  1. Tor Coolguy says:

    Here’s the Akkadian one. http://en.bookfi.org/book/1057849

    Guessing from the first two that you have an interest in the historical aspect of ancient Judaism, I’d also recommend George Mendenhall. He’ll bury the most insightful arguments beneath the driest titles, so don’t be put off by that. E.g. this excellent essay which summarizes the argument of some of his longer books: http://home.earthlink.net/~cadman777/Law_Cov_Mendenhall_TITLE.htm

    (If you don’t have a tablet, get one. It’ll save you lots of money in the long run if you consume lots of books and can find online copies.)

    • douglasdouma says:

      Thanks! You must really like cats. 🙂

      I’ll see what I can do with digital versions. Saving money is nice, but I really like physical books so that I can write notes in them, and not stare at a computer screen.

  2. My dad, HWL, gave me a list of book titles in 1974, his top ten at that time. Let’s see if I can remember:
    Calvin’s Institutes’
    Augustine’s City of God
    Luther’s Bondage of the Will
    Warfield on Calvin and Augustine/ Counterfeit Miracles
    Gregg Singer, Calvin, His Roots & Fruits
    Geerhardus Vos, The Kingdom of God and the Church
    Berkhof’s Systematic Theology
    Pink’s Sovereignty of God
    Clark’s Christian View of Men and Things /Thales to Dewey
    Lindsell’s Battle for the Bible

    Have you already got most of those?

Leave a Reply

