The Book Business, Week 2

I’ve had a couple slows days only selling 1 book per day, but I just sold 2 textbooks today so that made me happy.  Plus they were to the same person, so I was able to bundle them and save on shipping some.

On Monday I felt like I wasn’t building my inventory fast enough with my current channels and so went Door-to-Door.  It turns out people will just give you their old books, so I don’t even make money offers.  I spent a couple hours knocking on doors and actually only got books from two different houses, but I left my number with 3 others who promised to give me a large quantity of books as soon as they were able to sort through their collection.

So right now I’ve got 7 good leads for large collections of books, plus my standard retinue of places to find books: discarded from the library and those at the thrift store.  I downloaded the Amazon scanner app last night and can now use my iPad to price check books.  When I get a chance to go to a bigger city I’ll hit up their Goodwill and scan the promising books for profit margins.

Because I’ve sold now sold a certain quantity of books, Amazon has required that I fill out a 1099 tax form.  Since my sales would be on hold until I followed through, I just went ahead and filled it out.  As a libertarian I was really hoping to fly under the radar with this business, but as a Christian I’ll just obey the laws so as to stay out of trouble.

About douglasdouma

I am a graduate of the University of Michigan (BSME), Wake Forest University (MBA), and Sangre de Cristo Seminary (Mdiv). I've learned far more from books than in school. I'm particularly in debt to Martin Luther, Ludwig von Mises, and Gordon H. Clark for any thoughts I have.
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

