Update on the Biography of Gordon Clark, part 11.

I haven’t made a post on my blog in a while because I’ve been spending a lot of time adding material to the Gordon Clark foundation website where I’m an administrator. If you haven’t seen the articles we’ve posted, go check them out. Over 100 unpublished articles are now available. And we’ve got a photo album as well. http://thegordonhclarkfoundation.com/clark-photo-album/

I’ve been working on transcribing the collection of Dr. Clark’s letters that I’ve amassed in my project. It is now up to 706 letters. About 400 of these have been transcribed. I plan to finish the rest soon. The best of the collection I’m hoping to have published as a set.

A while back, upon my brother’s review of the biography, I decided to make it an intellectual biography and alternate biographical/historical and theological chapters. The book is getting complicated, but theology is necessary to understand the history, and vice versa.

I suppose I haven’t typed more than a handful of sentences in the biography in the last couple months. But it is still in works with a lot of research and editing going on. I just recently purchased an original 1949 copy of one of Cornelius Van Til’s syllabi which addresses the Ordination Controversy.

Here’s an overview of the chapters as they currently stand:

Chapter 1: The Presbyterian Heritage of Gordon Clark

Chapter 2: Early Writings on Ancient Greek Philosophy

Chapter 3: Gordon Clark at Wheaton College

Chapter 4: The Origins of Gordon Clark’s Philosophy

Chapter 5: Origins of the Ordination Controversy

Chapter 6: The Arguments of the Ordination Controversy

Chapter 7: Conclusions and Results of the Ordination Controversy

Chapter 8: Gordon Clark’s Critiques of Secular Philosophy

Chapter 9: A Vast Literary Output – The Butler University Years

Chapter 10: The Philosophy of Gordon H. Clark

Chapter 11: “Clark’s Boy’s”

Chapter 12: Biblical Commentaries and Intra-Church Debates

Chapter 13: Gordon Clark’s Later Years

Chapter 14: The Legacy of Gordon Clark

About douglasdouma

I am a graduate of the University of Michigan (BSME), Wake Forest University (MBA), and Sangre de Cristo Seminary (Mdiv). I've learned far more from books than in school. I'm particularly in debt to Martin Luther, Ludwig von Mises, and Gordon H. Clark for any thoughts I have.
This entry was posted in Notes on the thought of Gordon H. Clark. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update on the Biography of Gordon Clark, part 11.

  1. Looks great. Chapter 4 should probably be “The Origins of Gordon Clark’s Philosophy” (removing the extra ‘the’).

Leave a Reply

